top of page

Special Education

ESU 15 provides a variety of special education services to meet the unique needs of students with disabilities in the following schools: Chase County, Dundy County-Stratton, Wauneta-Palisade, Hayes Center, Hitchcock County, Maywood,            Medicine Valley, McCook, and Southwest.

Our staff covers a lot of miles providing services to children with disabilities in these schools, so we have provided links to the Nebraska Department of Roads to keep them safe as possible, and Mapquest to know the best route to get to a destination.  Even though ESU 15 only covers 9 school districts, it encompasses 5,000 square miles! 

Please check out the special education's updated weekly!

Boy Playing with Blocks
Open Notebook

The Director of Special Education is John Hanson.  The ESU #15 Director of Special Education is responsible for supervision and overall coordination of all special education services available through ESU #15 as contracted services to the area schools. Those services may be either direct supervision of contracted ESU #15 personnel or indirect services to schools through supervision of locally owned special education programs and staff. 

Assistance is given to local districts in the area of special education financial reporting including final financial reports, Part B Maintenance of Effort (MOE) application, SPED IDEA Consolidated Application, applicable Flex Option Reports for not meeting MOE and any other requested special education financial help. 

You can contact John at ESU 15 McCook office(308) 345-7341, ESU 15 Trenton office(308) 334-5160, McCook Public Schools(308) 344-4470, and cell(308) 737-9538.


For questions about ESU 15 billings please contact Cindy McCorkle, ESU 15 Business Manager (308) 334-5160.



Click below to find out more information

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)

MTSS Training



Nov. 10th 2020

bottom of page